Closing Fashion's Sustainability Gap
Wednesday, April 14, 2021

-
Days
-
Hours
-
Minutes
-
Seconds

Join us at the BoF Professional Summit on April 14, 2021 from 2-6pm BST.

The fashion industry has 10 years to do its part to avoid catastrophic climate change and an urgent duty to improve the welfare of the workers who make it tick. But while fashion brands have stepped up their sustainability commitments, measuring progress in a comparable, standardised way has been elusive, until now. 

The Business of Fashion’s inaugural Sustainability Index benchmarks the performance of fashion’s biggest companies against ambitious environmental and social goals across six of the most important topics for sustainable innovation in the coming decade:

  • Transparency
  • Emissions
  • Water & Chemicals
  • Waste
  • Materials
  • Workers’ Rights

What progress have fashion companies made in living up to their rhetoric in these sustainability categories? What does fashion need to achieve next over the next decade to truly clean up its act?

On April 14, 2021, The Business of Fashion will convene leading global experts, thought leaders and activists in sustainability and workers rights for a 4-hour live broadcast of interactive conversations and panel discussions, led by BoF's expert editors and correspondents. We’ll unpack the findings from the BoF Sustainability Index and outline the steps that need to be taken over the coming decade to align the industry with global climate goals and social imperatives. 

As an all access BoF Professional member, register now to reserve your spot.

If you are not a member, you can take advantage of our 30-day trial to experience all of the benefits of a BoF Professional membership, including the Summit.

RESERVE YOUR SPOT HERE
JOIN BoF PROFESSIONAL HERE

Support your employees' development and benefit from volume discounts by attending the summit with your team of 5 or more. Discover the details here.

If you are interested in becoming a sponsor, please contact our team here.

Speakers


The BoF Professional Summit will showcase speakers and moderators from across the industry, from C-suite executives and entrepreneurs, to sustainability experts, thought leaders and government officials. 

New speakers will be announced on a weekly basis. In the meantime, read our Sustainability index here.

Boma Brown-West

Director, Safe and Healthy Products, Environmental Defense Fund

Ayesha Barenblat

CEO and Founder, REMAKE -

Michael Sadowski

Independent Sustainability Advisor yyyyy

Nishanth Chopra

Founder, Oshadi

Stella McCartney

Creative Director ???????????????????????///////////

Daniela Ibarra-Howell

CEO and Co-Founder, Savory Institute ????????

Dawn McGregor

Business Unusual Lead, China Water Risk ??????

Anannya Bhattacharjee

International Coordinator, Asia Floor Wage Alliance

Schedule

Leading global experts, thought leaders and activists in sustainability and workers rights will gather for a 4-hour live broadcast of interactive conversations and panel discussions, led by BoF's expert editors and correspondents. We’ll unpack the findings from the BoF Sustainability Index and outline the steps that need to be taken over the coming decade to align the industry with global climate goals and social imperatives. 

Keynote speakers to be announced shortly.


14:00 BST / 09:00 EDT / 06:00 PDT 

Welcome Remarks
Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Business of Fashion
Imran Amed, Founder & CEO, The Business of Fashion

14:15 BST / 09:15 EDT / 06:15 PDT

Waste: Chasing the Holy Grail of Circularity 
Edwin Keh, CEO, The Hong Kong Research Institute of Textiles and Apparel
Lauren Sherman, Chief Correspondent, The Business of Fashion

14:40 BST / 09:40 EDT / 06:40 PDT

Water & Chemicals: Solving Fashion's Pollution Problem
Boma Brown West, Director Safe and Healthy Products, Environmental Defense Fund
Dawn McGregor, Business Unusual Lead, China Water Risk
Sanjeev Bahl, CEO, Saitex
Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Business of Fashion

15:10 BST / 10:10 EDT / 07:10 PDT

Workers Rights: Devising a New Social Contract
Ayesha Barenblat, Founder & CEO, Remake
Ritu Sethi,
Founder-Trustee, Craft Revival Trust & Editor, Global InCH
Anannya Bhattacharjee, International Coordinator, Asia Floor Wage Alliance
Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Business of Fashion

15:40 BST / 10:40 EDT / 07:40 PDT 

Materials: Reimagining Fashion’s Materials Mix 
Daniela Ibarra Howell, Co- Founder & CEO, Savory Institute
Nina Marenzi, Founder, Future Fabrics Expo
Nishanth Chopra, Founder, Oshadi
Lauren Sherman, Chief Correspondent, The Business of Fashion

16:10 BST / 11:10 EDT / 08:10 PDT 

Emissions: Solving Fashion’s Climate Crisis 
Laila Petrie, CEO, 2050
Michael Sadowski, Independent Sustainability Advisor
Hannah Phang, Head of Marketing and Advocacy, Futerra
Brian Baskin, Deputy Editor, The Business of Fashion

16:40 BST / 11:40 EDT / 08:40 PDT

Transparency: Tackling Misinformation and Bad Data
Linda E. Greer, Global Fellow, Institute of Public and Environmental Affairs
Sarah Kent, London Editor, The Business of Fashion

17:00 BST / 12:00EDT / 09:00 PDT

Stella McCartney on the Business of Sustainable Design
Stella McCartney, Creative Director
Imran Amed, Founder & Chief Executive, The Business of Fashion

17:45 BST / 12:45 EDT / 09:45 PDT

Closing Remarks